This project is read-only.

Where to start to get to know the APIs?

Topics: Sample Code and Demos
Feb 14, 2014 at 9:08 AM
Cocos2D-XNA is not really blessed with comments in the code :-)
Documentation is also rare.

If I'm new to the framework, what is the closest framework to look at for starters:
  • Monogame
  • Cocos2D
  • The Cocos2D Xamarin C# bindings
  • Cocos2D-X
?

I know there is the Angry Ninjas example. But that is pretty complex. There are many tutorials for the other frameworks, starting with very simple games. So I'm wondering which ones are easiest to translate to Cocos2D-XNA?
Feb 14, 2014 at 10:06 PM
How about if we don't approach this as "how do I learn the framework," but rather "how will cocos2d-xna work with my game idea."

Do you have a game already designed? If not, please spend lots and lots of time designing your game. Draw out the screens as you see them working, the art does not have to be perfect. Use stick figures. Use Visio if you have it. Print paper and mark it up regularly. Making a game is very creative and can be exhaustive, even before you write code. If you have the game idea clearly thought out before taking on the framework then you will be much happier. You will feel more accomplished because you will not feel as if you are losing time learning the framework.

The framework is hugely complex yet simple to implement. There are VSIX extensions to Visual Studio that make the startup of your project very quick.

It all starts with scenes. You write a scene that is composed of CCLayer implementations. This takes the form of buttons, sprites, menu items, everything like that. You paste layers atop eachother to make your game presentation.